Lining molds

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sperry

Reaction score
I've skimmed the topics (10 pages worth, anyway) and read all the posts I found dealing with removing soap from molds. Most (all?) of the discussion revolved around loaf molds. (The possible exception being spraying with oil.) What I would like is for the soap to come out of the mold in bar-sizes. Do those tray molds work? (I know someone who tried one way back when, and she sent it back, totally frustrated. The plastic bowed, and it was NOT "easily bent back into shape.") and she said removing the soap was all but impossible. Lining doesn't seem feasible for tray molds. Does spraying with oil work? I guess I'm curious why most people pour loaves and cut rather than pouring individual bars. Thanks.

I am no expert, but have done tons of late night research. I have read not to oil the molds because the oil in the soap bonds with it. That makes sense to me. I have had that happen with shea butter soap (pictured). Then on another website they say that they oil the molds with coconut oil. :?:
Try putting the mold after the soap has cooled in a plastic bag and put in the freezer for a few hours. I left one in for a week or more, accidently forgot about it, and they popped right out.

I also use wooden sewing machine drawers lined with waxed paper or heavy plastic from inside cereal boxes. Also found a bunch of hard rubber drawer organizers (Target brand) at the Goodwill that work great if they are lined.

SHEA.BUTTER.BATCH.6.OVAL.2BARS.ROSE.300.287.JPG

sperry said:
I guess I'm curious why most people pour loaves and cut rather than pouring individual bars. Thanks.