When can I unmold?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meganlanephotos

Reaction score
Hello all!

This is my first time posting on this forum, although I have posted several times on TalkSoap forum several times this past week. I've been making bath bombs, lotion, sugar scrubs, etc for a while now, but I am very new to soaping and am trying to learn as much as possible. The idea of using lye has always frightened me, as I have young children but I decidede it was time to get over that fear. I have ready hundreds of articles regarding the process over the past few weeks and I finally made my first batch of soap two days a go.

The soap I made 2 days a go was a 5lb Pumpkin Vanilla batch. The process went smoothly, reached trace within 7 minutes and then I poured into one 3lb loaf mold, 3 silicone bunny rabbits and 10 individual silicone heart molds. I was confused at the time about whether or not I wanted my soap to gel, and so I left them on the counter completely uncovered. 36 hours later, they are still on the counter uncovered. At first, they were a pretty orange color and pudding consistency. Now they are much harder and they have changed to a tan color (which I read could be from the vanilla EO) but they also have some white powder on the top of them. I am assuming that this is the dreaded soda ash I've read about?? Anyway, my first question is this: When can I unmold these? Also, once they are cured, can I cut off a thin slice on the top to remove the white powder? Will this work?