Um, any advice for treating lips and tongue that have been burned by soap batter

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibct1969

Reaction score
In the midst of a swirling frenzy I managed to get some batter on my upper lip and a drop on my tongue. My lip feels totally burned. Ice? Or what's best? Feeling so stupid....

I'm not a doctor, but if it were me, I would apply fresh aloe vera gel to both places (I keep a live aloe vera plant in my house for household burns, and also sunburns). I basically would cut off a stem of aloe, split it in half, scoop out the innards and mash them up, then apply the mash to the troubled area. To keep it on the skin for a more prolonged time, you can even tape the opened side of the split stem directly onto the skin (I've done that before on various occasions with excellent results). For the tongue......aloe vera doesn't taste very good (at least not to me), but it's edible. I would have no qualms about mashing some of the innards up with some water, and then swishing it around in my mouth every so often throughout the day (you can spit it out when done swishing).

IrishLass :)

First thoroughly flush the area with cool water for 15 minutes. This it to ensure you have washed away all residual lye. Afterward, a cool compress is helpful to relieve pain. Do NOT use ice on a burn.

Consult a physician if it is larger than 3 inches in diameter, or looks or feels like it is deep, or looks or feels like it is getting worse.

Edited to add: There is no definitive evidence that treating chemical burns with aloe is either beneficial or contraindicated. Depending on how your skin feels, I would approach this plan very cautiously.