my cute little mold and soap cutter that I made!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Milla

Reaction score
It was a bit of work but I made my own 1 lb mold and soap cutter. I bought a $5 piece of poplar from Menards with some hardware and made both of these.

What I wouldn't do for a miter saw and table saw! I had to use my miter box and hand saw for most of the work. I have no idea if the soap cutter will work, but it's my first attempt. If it doesn't cut straight then I have ideas for try #2.

I followed Keith Brown's tutorial for making a mold. He said he'd eventually post a tut for the soap cutter, but nothing yet. Next is a 2 lb mold.

dsc00583ert.jpg

I'm thoroughly impressed. Looks like you did a great job. I make 1# batches and would love a "slicing soap outfit" like that!

krissy said:
your cutter is awesome!! i want one of those!!!

Thanks! It's FAR from perfect. I have it set to cut 1-1/8" bars. If I want to do 1" bars I'll put cardboard in front of the stopper. I have some soap in my old mold that I just made so hopefully in a day or so I can cut it.

I should've used my circular saw to cut the slots, but TOTALLY forgot we had one hidden.

x

:shock: oh, milla, they look terrific!

really nice job on the mold. being able to slide the soap out is such a nice thing!

you should be proud of yourself and take real satisfaction that EVERYTHING about your soap is handmade! :D

Re: x

heartsong said:
:shock: oh, milla, they look terrific!

really nice job on the mold. being able to slide the soap out is such a nice thing!

you should be proud of yourself and take real satisfaction that EVERYTHING about your soap is handmade! :D

:D :D Thanks! :D :D

I actually am proud of myself. I usually don't give myself props (ha ha), but I am today.

Nice job!! I also have a chefmate cutter, but I use it in a plastic mitre box.

Go You!! :)

Jude