How have your other hobbies, skills, and interests helped you with soap making?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meepocow

Reaction score
I am very new to soap making (two loaves in!), and was not impressed with the generic soap cutter I got off Amazon that came with pastry-cutter knives. I found they totally mashed up the soap, and there was so much play in the slots that it was hard to achieve a solid straight cut.

Introductory single bar wire cutters start around $100, and at this stage of the game I would rather invest that in more raw ingredients for soaping! 😁 So I turned to my other interest, beginner woodworking, and used the miter saw and some scrap wood to put together a quick jig to cut 1" bars. Even hacked my husband's coping saw (that has been gathering dust!) to add an old guitar wire. It works very well for what I need!

🥰 This got me to thinking, what other skills, hobbies, or backgrounds have helped you in your soap making journey?

Attachments

• 20221012_175440.jpg
    20221012_175440.jpg
    5.5 MB · Views: 0
  • 20221012_175522.jpg
    20221012_175522.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 0
I work in a print/sign shop. When I first bought a cutter for loaves of soap, it was a marble cheese cutter (that my grandson absolutely LOVED to cut cheese with.... as small as he could make it). At first, I used a piece of washi tape to mark out a 1" bar but later cut down a piece of Sintra (basically, plastic sign board) and used a very strong double sided tape to mark the 1" mark. It's still stuck there, after more than 4 years.