Elephant Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Elephant Soap - Updated with Pics P. 6

I have a friend who will be "walking for elephants" in February to raise awareness and money for a sanctuary in Africa. She will be holding a fundraising event before she goes over there, and I want to contribute a nice batch of soap that can be raffled or sold with proceeds to the cause. I am a biologist so it is obvious to me that this soap should somehow mimic these beautiful beasts, even if abstractly. Things coming to mind are: Gray, Wrinkly Skin (marble or texture?), Ears, Trunks, Tusks, Tracks (round bars). But nothing is really solidifying!

I don't have much experience with swirling or color techniques so it probably needs to fairly simple. I do have activated charcoal and TD so can make shades of gray. In fact I did already make a solid gray soap, but it's quite underwhelming. Maybe a two-toned gray/ivory rustic hot process bar with black pencil line?

What comes to your mind? Give me your ideas and pictures please! The elephants need our help!

Last edited:
Oh! What a fabulous idea! Elephant soap!

I have a couple of ideas! Dead Sea Mud soap (when gelled) gives what I think is a really nice steely greyish colour. You could add some of that for colouring and spike it with a bit of TD or charcoal if you want to tweak the colour. I recently made a batch of DSM soap and it had a tendency to ash and made the top look really nice and silvery, so if, instead of doing a whirly swirl on top, if you did straight squiggles with a skewer, you could get it to look like elephant skin. I'll put some pics in at the bottom so you can see what I mean. (I can't figure out how to put attached pictures into the middle of a post, so they are attached and will show up last,)