Soap Troubleshooting - Ashy look that doesn't wash off

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been making soap for about 6 years now and I've never come across this problem before. It appears that I have a soda ash problem, but it doesn't wash off. It looks like it's deep into the soap. I even tried scraping with the back of my disk washing tool. In the red layer on the end it's deep. I didn't stick blend these layers, I used a whisk so that they would pour evenly. Maybe I didn't mix long enough? I'll be upset because this is for a special order. Woof! I noticed a little bit of this white on the red layer on the last batch I made and didn't think anything of it... I'm hoping it's not some sort of unreacted lye? I'm going to go test on the inner side of my elbow... :(

PSX_20210701_120725.jpg

PSX_20210701_120706.jpg

PSX_20210701_120743.jpg

The previous batch that didn't have the problem:
PSX_20210701_120848.jpg

PSX_20210701_120858.jpg

That's a bummer. Such a beautiful and laborious soap, but then these specks all over!

I can't imagine these are soda ash either. Some questions towards troubleshooting: It appears to me as if this could be stearic spots, that somehow became worse the later you poured the colours. Do you happen to use a lot of hard oils (palm, lard, shea etc.) at a not too high temperature, so that the red batter had chance to cool down just too much for the reaction heat to re-melt the secretly solidifying fats? Did you force gel/CPOP?
I guess you have prepared a single batch of batter and split it into six portions to add the respective colourants. Or did you split lye and oils into six separately?
Did you pre-mix the red dye/pigment/mica with some oil/liquid, or did you stir it directly into the batter?