Soap making newbie

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lizettevdm23

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm very new to soap making but extremely excited about it! The pick shows how I put everything for my recipe together before I started with my 1st batch. The proof will be in the pudding tomorrow after taking them out of the Pringles containers... (Hold thumbs!!) ImageUploadedBySoap Making1404753671.252741.jpgAny tips or advice for me that could make or break my final product or make it extra special? Looking forward to read and share on this forum. Thanks so much!

Lizette
- Soap newbie

Welcome! Excellent choice on the Pringles containers :) I think I can safely say that almost everyone here just loves looking at any pictures to do with soaping.

I put all my stuff on big plastic serving trays (like from a cafeteria), that contains any spills and makes clean up easier.

My only suggestion to you would be to swap out that scale for a digital scale ASAP!

I second that on the scale. Analog scales are far too inaccurate for soap making. I generally measure out my recipes in grams for more accuracy

Welcome to the forum......and to the soaping addiction! :wave:

I agree with Seawolfe and Scotsman- swap out the analog scale for a digital scale. When it comes to weighing lye, you'll want to be as accurate as you can possibly get.

Let us know how your soap came out!

IrishLass :)

Using plastic serving trays is a good idea! Never thought of that. I just cover my area with a large piece of freezer paper, shiny side down, and tape it to the counter top. Then if I spill, just un-tape, roll up, and throw it away. Do you have gloves in the line up? I see the goggles and mask but can't tell if there are gloves in there. Digital scale is a definite as Seawolfe and Scotsman said. I can't wait to see your creations as they evolve!Welcome to the addiction, Lizettevdm23! :lol: