Need help in making the ULTIMATE BAR SOAP

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scoop80205

Reaction score
Hi, my name is Brian Nemeth from Denver, Colorado. I'm totally new to this idea of making my own soaps. That's because no matter what soap I buy, it does wash away body odor, but it doesn't do the job of relieving pesky itching. I end up using either in-shower body lotion or after-shower lotion to stop this ant-in-the-pants legs feeling. That's why I need help in finding the right ingredients (and measuring them) to make the ultimate bar of soap

When it comes to cleansing myself, I emphasize the importance of acquiring a specific set of ingredients for making soap that effectively eliminate impurities present in shower water. These impurities, including VOCs, chlorine, hard water, and chloramine, need to be addressed, particularly in instances where access to a shower-head equipped with water filtration is unavailable. Scenarios like visiting gyms, hotels, or any location outside my home exemplify the need for such measures.

Another aspect of my cleansing routine involves incorporating additional soap making ingredients, which serve as natural exfoliators and hydrators. These ingredients aid in relieving troublesome itchiness while I cleanse my body. My research has enlightened me regarding the efficacy of colloidal oatmeal, coarse epsom salt, and baking soda in combating itchiness. However, I wonder what would happen if I were to combine them together. Furthermore, the inclusion of calming oils such as almond and coconut oil adds a soothing touch.

Altogether, I seek guidance on soap-making ingredients that fulfill the following criteria:
- Eliminating impurities found in shower water
- Providing extra texture to alleviate persistent itching (such as oatmeal, coarse epsom salt, and baking soda)