Eco enzyme soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oumsofia25

Reaction score
Hello everyone
I'm Sam, mom of 3, has just started making soap for 1 month so I'm a newbie in soapmaking world. English is not my 1st language so I hope all of you can understand my messy English.
I would like to ask a question. So recently I stumbled upon a soap recipe in YouTube. It's an eco enzyme soap. Some of you probably never heard about eco enzyme, to make it simple this liquid is made with organic waste (clean fruit and veggie skin), fermented in water and molasses/honey. It results in low pH liquid, less than 4 (the pH mostly around 3).
So this recipe that I found used 100% coconut cooking oil and eco enzyme for lye solution.
43 grams of eco enzyme for lye solution
43 grams of extra eco enzyme for last addition (after emulsified)
300 grams of coconut oil
57 grams of lye

So I tried this recipe. I put my eco enzyme in ice bath because I'm afraid of scorching, but when I mixed it with lye, the solution thickened. Then I mixed it with the oil and start stirring. The batter thickened very fast, after I added extra eco enzyme and mixed it, the batter looked brittle, and I had hard time putting it into the mold
The soap overheat, and hardened real quick. Then after I took it out of the mold (I used individual molds), it has powdery white substance on parts of it ( soda ash?)
I haven't try using it because it's been only a week after I made the soap but I kinda scared that the soap will be lye heavy
Please kindly educate me, is this recipe lye heavy? Why the lye solution thicken and why the soap overheat?
Thank you

Attachments

• 1705390546729366831573331357995.jpg
    1705390546729366831573331357995.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 0
  • 17053905717584950610174308026870.jpg
    17053905717584950610174308026870.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 0