Getting braver

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nikolye

Reaction score
I've been soaping as a hobby off and on for a couple years, only enough to provide for my family. so a 1lb batch every few months... I'm doing more now, trying to perfect recipes as I may start selling to friends and family per request and I want it to be good... So I'm starting to source better tools and ingredients. I do this because i want to be as natural as possible, local when possible and nothing added that is environmentally unsound(to my knowledge)
#1- Scents
I'm 100% anti fragrance, it gives me headaches and i avoid perfumes in all things i buy..so the idea of scenting soap never occurred to me, but outsiders (not myself and my immediate family) like scents.. From what i've gathered you need a whole heck of alot of essential oils to make a scented soap. This is my only natural option for scenting i gather.. and is it necessary do you reckon to buy the higher priced oils when we dont fully know whether the goodness is left after sponification? is this one of those cases where a cheaper eo is ok?

#2 moulds
i am looking to buy a mold, a good big wooden one.. if i can't find a good one i may pay my brother in law to build one. but i want it to be good, so i was going to bite the bullet and buy one. i know i can hammer some nails into some wood and get a solid basic square one...but i want something that makes soaping easier (I've been using shoe boxes and cutting with my good butcher knife) i want my bars to look uniform and quality. i will have trouble sourcing most moulds here in N.Z. but any good ones that you know of that fit the bill i'd love to hear or see them. once i buy a nice good one, if i want to change something about it i'll have my brother create an original one for me in the future.

#3 tools