First batch liquid soap, and already in deep trouble

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darth

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Well I've been reading for weeks and thought I was ready to make my first soap (never did solid) and now I'm 4 hours late for work and still cant get to trace. I really need your help !!

Recipe:

Sunflower oil: 3.8l (3,340.80g)
KOH: 595g
Water: 1,400g
Blossom honey: 100g
Crockpot on High

Since it's my first time, I wanted to get to know some of the most common oils but it has not been working out.

My stick blender just couldn't take 2 hours of short blasts and has now burned out, my arms hurt from all the manual mixing, but it would seperate while I was changing hands.

Eventually i added 100g of honey after reading that it would help come to trace and it sure did help but the honey caused it to form sort of a curd but that also stays separate from the water.

In desperation i removed as much water as I could (I'd guess about 3 pints) and it certainly does look better, no idea if this is what I should be looking for, but it will stay consistent for 4-5 seconds and look like trace as in the photo below.

After a few more seconds, it will flake out as in the other attached photo.

I'm in a desperate state now because I don't know if it's safe to leave it like this and go to work or if i should fill it with vinegar & dispose, please help !

IMG00093-20130109-1102.jpg

IMG00092-20130109-1101.jpg

I"m not experienced with liquid soaps, but from what I am seeing, it looks like you don't have enough emulsifiers. The left picture looks like gravy when it is too much fat, and the right picture looks better, due to removal of water, so I would say your balance of oil to water and emulsifier additives is way way way off. This is speculation however, I am only going by what I see.