Dehydrated goat milk

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Camine

Reaction score
Hi ya’all...newbie here. Has anyone dehydrated goat milk before? Is oily residue normal?

Last edited:
How are you mixing it in? I use dried goat milk directly into my oils, not mixed with water, and it's been working pretty well for me. Just stick blend the amount of dried goats milk (based on the water in your recipe) into the oils before you add the lye water.

No oily residue.

I am asking about the dehydrating process of the milk, before it is mixed with soap. I typically just use frozen goat milk but I wanted to try something different. When I dehydrate my goat milk, there is an oily residue and I am not sure if this is normal.

Hi ya’all...newbie here. Has anyone dehydrated goat milk before? Is oily residue normal?
I don't make my own dehydrated dairy products but I do use them in my soap--no having to freeze them into ice cubes. When I first started using dairy products in my soap I did freeze them but then thought I'd see how dehydrated products worked--love it because then I can use other liquids like ACV, beer, etc.

I did Google dehydrating goat milk to see if I could find anything relating to your issue and here's a link: http://perkypreppinggramma.blogspot.com/2013/02/dehyrating-milk.html

I read through some of the questions/answers to see if anyone asked what you asked. You might find what you're asking about by reading more.
upload_2019-11-2_21-48-37.png

I clicked on her link to take me to the 'how to' for long storage and there were photos of her steps and it appears to be a photo where there might be some oily areas of the dried milk.....or at least it looks like it to me. Here's the photo I'm referring to and the link to the 'how to' as well: http://perkypreppinggramma.blogspot.com/2015/05/how-to-dehydrate-milk-for-long-term.html