Cut soap pics.UGLY! Shield your eyes from this!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wolfsnaps

Reaction score
Ok, so its my first attempt. 45% lard, 20% coconut oil, 35% olive oil

And its butt ugly and looks like cheese or a sponge.

The entire outer layer has air bubbles. The inside doesn't. So weird. I tapped it quite a bit, then covered in plastic wrap and a few towels. So what happened? Any suggestions on preventing this? I don't have alcohol ON me right now. I am going to make another batch now with colors and probably end up with more ugly soap but I don't care. LOL I WILL PERFECT THIS!

Looks like sweat spots.. Did it gel?

And I love it! Totally spongebob like obsidian said. :)
Is make this on purpose all the time if I could.. Give to my kids or market for kids.

Ha! Spongebob soap - that's awesome! I think its a cute soap - don't be so mean to it!
Yeah I know nothing, but Id heard silicone can do something like that? Could easily be wrong.

For what it's worth, it happened to one of my soaps that wasn't in a silicone mold, and the recipe I used was different than yours (10% Castor, 15% Cocoa, 30% Coconut, 30% Olive, 15% Avocado)
I don't remember why it happened, but it may indeed be sweat spots.

(they were supposed to be for Valentine's - I used a heart-shaped cookie cutter to cut the soap, but the red colouring faded, and now my soap is bumpy and has a sickly salmon-grey colour... happy ZOMBIE valentine's day, I guess!)

Seeing that you covered it in plastic wrap, maybe it is - I know that sometimes I cover my mold with a plastic cover before I wrap it in a towel, and that causes condensation to form on the plastic cover, since the water has no where to escape.

Totally loving the sponge-bob soap idea!