Brambleberry Soap mold (36 bar). Getting tired of these dividers... New options?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jamison

Reaction score
I've been using the Brambleberry mold for about 2 years now. It's worked fine, but I'm upping my production lately and getting tired of the time and effort it takes to deal with the dividers.

The dividers are hard to pull out of the 'slap' and require pliers and a bit of strength. This bends the divider a little bit so I have go back through each time and try to bend it back into place (I try to do it as close to center as possible, but leverage is required to get those suckers loose). There's also a fair amount of cleaning involved with all those pieces (14 pieces to be cleaned). And due to this slight bend that I cannot get it I think that is what is causing my bars to vary in finished weight.

The reason I got this mold is so I didn't have to measure and cut the bars out. And so they would have a more organic rounded natural edge instead of a sharp cut.

So now I'm thinking I design or have made some wire cutter that would cut the whole slab out at once. Or maybe in two 'swoops' (strips then bars). And if I'm not using the dividers, I don't really need this fancy wood mold and could have something made as well. And perhaps even bigger. I could also dictate the actual shape of the bar. To be honest the bar is a bit tall when making 4.75+ oz bars. I'm not that keen on the shape. I could also make the mold bigger. Perhaps to hold 35lbs batch instead of the 17lb batch I use now (recently increased the amount to get 5oz bars).

Just throwing out some ideas and looking for any sort of input from you other soaper folks. Thanks!