Newbie here!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sboylan2012

Reaction score
Hi Soapers(sp?)! I'm new to soaping(have yet to make my first batch) and need a good starter recipe. I finally have everything I need(except ingredients) to start making soap, but I don't have any recipes! I found a few but I think they might be over my head. I really want to use lavender and I'm not sure about lard. I have done a lot of reading and you-tube video watching and I feel familiar with the process and I'm planning on going the hot-process route. I'm really just looking for a basic recipe. I found this:
66oz Lard
25oz Water
8.5oz lye

This seems off(due to only have lye mixture and lard) but is in the basic criteria that i'm looking for. I want to find everything I need in town so i don't have to order a ton online. I'm also not sure about a zap test and how it works and really confused when using any soapcalc(sp?). Any help and/or advice would be greatly appreciated! :smile:

I don't know where you are located, but our local Walmart stocks coconut oil, the New Crisco, which has palm, olive oil, lard, sunflower oil, and even Castor oil. Castor oil is found in the pharmacy section. You could try this recipe for a small batch to start with:

5% Castor oil
30% coconut oil
25% lard
40% oilve oil

Plug these percentages into SoapCalc next to the oils and click "calculate" and "view/print" to get the right amount of lye and water for 16 oz of oils.

http://www.soapcalc.net/calc/soapcalcwp.asp

There is a good demo on this site of a zap test too. Look at the sticky's for a visual demo of a zap test. It is basically sticking your tongue to the soap and seeing if you taste soap or if you get a "zap" to your tongue - think of a static electricity jolt to your tongue.

How about a lovely castille recipe?

100% Olive oil

keep your Superfat at 5%

simple as pie! :)