Hello!! New to this site and new to starting my own business :)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score

Hello everyone!! I am so glad I found this forum site!! I just bought some of my supplies to start making organic lotion to sell. I am a mom of 3 and I also work part time in health care. I live in Wisconsin, I am excited to learn a whole lot more about starting my business and meet new people. :)

Welcome to the forum. There's lots of people here who make stuff, so you will be able to get input and ideas, and good advice on adding preservatives and meeting FDA label requirements, and what to do do when batches go wrong as well as celebrating successes. These are all things we've been discussing the last few days, so I hope you're having a good read if you're exploring the boards!

Thank you ladies!! I'm actually going to be starting out using a natural base and just add essential oils. I've been doing quite a bit of research and trying to learn how to go about it all. But most of what I find is about soaps and recipes. I'm new to all of it, so any advice is appreciated!!

Lotions are mostly made from oils, "butters," and emulsifiers. I would check youtube for tutorials, and I would add a preservative, even if you're trying to go natural. Because oils tend to separate and melt in the heat, you want to add something to keep it all together (emulsifier), and possibly add a preservative to keep bacerial growth out. I wish I could tell you which preservative to use, but that one is over my head too. You can try lotioncrafters.com, they have an entire range of things to make lotions with. Thanks to paillo for showing me that site yesterday!