Grrrrr...Can I vent???

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stinkydancer

Reaction score
I just had to share with someone. Please tell me I'm not the only one this has happened to.

I had taken a hiatus from soaping for awhile to deal with an illness. I'm back now but before that I had been making soap for 10 years or so. My family even longer. I always had good luck with batches, well until now.

I always RTCP and my recipe is one that I have always used, it's the Trinity with full water and 5% SF. I add 1 TBS ppo of Castor at trace. I have never really had too much of a problem ever, I had some fast acceleration at times but never a seize or ricing. My last 2 batches- I had 1 of each. The FO's were from Nature's Garden, the Riced one was China Rain, which I stick blended and sorta saved. I can at least use it and the scent is nice. It's just flatter- I had to take it out of my original mold and put it into a bigger mold. It's ugly but smells good.

The China Rain seized in the mold. I had time to do swirl it but it started clenching, I should have known to stop swirling but there was one corner that was irritating me. LOL So I stuck that in the oven at 170 for an hour and I'm hoping for the best when I pop that out.

I definitely know it was the FO because I had extra of colored portion of soap that I stuck into another mold- it's unscented and fine.

So- sigh....what a way to start the new year. At least the batch before these two turned out nice- OHP Castile- OMH. Yummmm!

I'm thinking about sticking to HP at least the florals, it might be best. Seeing as I broke down in tears when my nice swirls turned lumpy. :twisted:

I think I just need a hug and need to know I'm not alone. LOL

Any advice? I have never really had these troubles. I just kinda panicked and Stickblended or threw it in the oven when it happened.