Greetings guys

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

getcooked32

Reaction score
Hey guys thanks to who started this wonderful forum. I am new to the soap making world and really on one specific mission. To mimic a face soap my wife is using for years. Sodium palmate is the first ingredient and after that it’s ganoderma (our favorite mushroom), glycerin, fragrance and a few more basic ingredients. I’ll include the photo below. Now I’ve read online that most people recommend not using high percentage of palm oil, but I’ve also found some people swearing by it. I was wondering if anyone out there makes soap with a higher palm oil % than 60%? I was thinking of doing 80% palm oil and 20% glycerin, vitamin e oil and another type of filler. I know it’s not the norm but my wife swears by this soap (for her acne prone skin) that she is currently using and the types of oils in the label aren’t to vast. Any help would be much appreciated.
upload_2020-1-18_10-39-45.jpeg

I am new to the soap making world and really on one specific mission. To mimic a face soap my wife is using for years. Sodium palmate is the first ingredient and after that it’s ganoderma (our favorite mushroom), glycerin, fragrance and a few more basic ingredients.

Gerianol, Citronellol and Hydroxycitronellal are all fragrance components (geranium, rose and other plants).

Now I’ve read online that most people recommend not using high percentage of palm oil, but I’ve also found some people swearing by it. I was wondering if anyone out there makes soap with a higher palm oil % than 60%? I was thinking of doing 80% palm oil and 20% glycerin, vitamin e oil and another type of filler. I know it’s not the norm but my wife swears by this soap (for her acne prone skin) that she is currently using and the types of oils in the label aren’t to vast. Any help would be much appreciated.