Quantcast

Classico Olive Oil

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

sudsnbubbles

Active Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Has anyone used the Bertolli Brand Classico Olive Oil? It says it is composed of refined olive oils and virgin olive oils. Is that considered Pomace?
 

heart of dixie soap co

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
110
Reaction score
1
Location
guntersville, al
olive oil

hi there!

no, you have virgin olive oil. pomace oil is usually not sold in grocery stores. if i run short of olive oil and i buy in a grocery store i buy olive oil that does not say extra virgin, or virgin. it just says olive oil. it's cheaper and it's usually on the lower shelves of the store.

i have mixed feelings about pomace oil. it is the last pressing of olives and pits. it's sometimes solvent extracted and can be very "touchy"

hope this helps.

monet
 

chrisinflorida

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
145
Reaction score
0
I have used this particular olive oil with no problems. I believe Paul (Soapmaker Man) also uses it.

Chris
 

digit

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
3
I have also used this brand with no problems. I use the SAP number for plain olive oil vs pomace olive oil. Sometimes I use it for the lighter color.

Digit
 

Chay

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,162
Reaction score
19
Location
Ohio
digit said:
I have also used this brand with no problems. I use the SAP number for plain olive oil vs pomace olive oil. Sometimes I use it for the lighter color.

Digit
Ditto here
 

Soapmaker Man

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
3,006
Reaction score
87
Location
SW Missouri
Yup, It's all I have ever used. I buy it at Sams in 3 litre jugs. I really like it! I have never used pomice or EVOO, only the Bertolli Classico in my soaps.

 

earthsessencellc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Ilovesoap said:
Me too! I love it, make a very creamy colored soap.
I just made 2 batches of Castile soap, yeah i used pomace olive oil in mine, because I heard it traces faster. Well it's been sitting in the mold for just over 24 hours, I know I have to allow this to set for a longer period of time and all, I've heard around 48 hours, before removing the soap from the mold, is this kind of a guideline verses 'rule of thumb'? i am kind of playing it by ear, should I just keep playing it by ear or is there a time limit that I might be able to shoot for here? LOL Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question, this is my first time with castile soaps, i've always used a more 'detailed' recipe, LOL


Fear of the unknown I guess, LOL!
 

cdwinsby

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
448
Reaction score
1
Location
Sicamous, BC
I wouldn't worry too much about having an exact time or anything....if it too soft to handle, leave it longer.

I usually just gently press on the top edge of the soap and if it squishes too much, I leave it alone for awhile.

Once a castile soap sets up, it can get really hard. I usually cut mine right after the 24 hours.
 

reallyrita

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2007
Messages
601
Reaction score
6
hmm...my Sam's Club does not carry Classico. They carry Star brand light olive oil. I have only used that. It says it is 100% olive oil. It makes a very light cream colored soap. I have never made a true Castille though, all mine are Bastille.
 

sudsnbubbles

Active Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
" really rita said," I have never made a true Castille though, all mine are Bastille.

Thanks reallyrita! May I ask, what is Bastille? Shows my newbieness!LOL! :lol
 

sudsnbubbles

Active Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Florida
Thanks! I was wondering if you could call a soap that's not a 100% OO castile soap. So I'm glad to know that.
 
Top