My recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zoozoo

Reaction score
I'm new in soap making
And I have :
Shea Butter
Cocoa Butter
Virgin coconut oil / refined (we do not have the types used for soap such as (76/92)
just refined
Virgin/refined olive oil
What are your suggestions for a simple and economical recipe for dry skin?
My suggestion
50% olive oil
35% shea butter
15% coconut oil
📍Note:
* We do not have the usual economic oils for soap, such as palm, palm kernel, etc
*I do not want to use animal fats
I appreciate your suggestions guys
📍Another note : “ for Alioop ” : I checked the writing as much as possible 👀

I used to make a recipe that was very similar to that. I really liked it on my skin, I felt very moisturized after showering. The bars didn't melt away too fast either, which was nice. But Mr. E hated it and wouldn't use it, and it did leave some friends feeling slimy. I did get some DOS on some bars with this recipe too, but that could've been environmental. The lather really lacked stability. I also was experimenting with high superfats too, so there's that too.

I agree with Kiwi, I'd experiment with getting the CO higher on yours.

this is my old recipe, but I don't suggest using it for the reasons stated above.

latest recipe.png

Last edited:
This looks good. I like 20% CO in my soap, but many others on here would agree with your 15%. They it and let us know what you think.
Do you prefer more to increase the foam?
I reduced the coconut so I could use it for my face..
I have a recipe that I already made a sample to try, completely coconut-free and with the addition of 10% castor, I found it foams beautifully.