Castile Soap Turned Out Crumbly

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to soapmaking and am looking to make a Castile bar soap using only organic extra virgin olive oil and lye (I've been buying one, but it's so expensive!). I decided to use a hot process method with a crockpot, as I know Castile soap and Savon de Marseille were traditionally made in cauldrons. Today was my first attempt, and the bars turned out hard and crumbly, not smooth like the Castile soap I've been buying.

I didn't blend for very long with my hand mixer, so I wonder if it didn't emulsify properly? Or I didn't stir often enough? I tried using the stick blender a little later in the process, but it still seemed to have a curdled texture. Also, afterwards, I read that you should insulate with plastic wrap or a dishtowel to retain water, but my original recipe did not say that, so I didn't. In fact, it said the opposite, that I should remove the cover towards the "mashed potato" stage, so it's possible too much moisture escaped or I overcooked it. It is, however, lathering well with water, so I'd venture to say it's usable--I hope!!

So my two questions are:
1) How do I know if my soap is usable?/Is there anyway the lye is still active?
2) What would cause a crumbly or curdled looking soap?

I so appreciate your guidance!

Welcome savondemarseille! :wave:

Can you post how much olive oil, water and lye you used? That will give us a good trouble-shooting foundation to work off of.

In the mean-time, to answer your questions:

1) Doing a zap/tongue test will tell you if your soap is safe to use. Here is how to conduct a zap/tongue test:

To conduct a zap/tongue test, just take a pea-size or smaller amount of your soap (or soap paste) and lather it up between two fingers under running water.....