Wool wash for knits help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knitsoapmaker

Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm new to soap making and am looking for a soap recipe to solve a specific problem. I'm an avid knitter and want to be able to make my own liquid wool wash for my knits. Traditional wool wash recipes use methylated spirits, which I'd prefer to avoid, and don't include any lanolin. I've found blog posts online from people making lanolin wool wash but no specific recipe with amounts or directions. Does anyone here have any experience making a liquid wool wash soap with a small amount lanolin? Or know of resources that might have recipes?

I'm absolutely new to soap making so I'm looking for a recipe that would have the step-by-step instructions in addition to proper ingredient rations & amounts.

I (and my knits) appreciate any help you can give!

(Here's a link to my ravelry for any fellow knitters! Ravelry )

Thank you!

There is a reason why wool washes contain methylated spirits, to help clean grease and stains in lieu of agitation...which you can't do unless you want to felt your garment.

There is a reason why wool washes contain methylated spirits, to help clean grease and stains in lieu of agitation...which you can't do unless you want to felt your garment.

That’s really helpful information, thank you! In that case, is it possible to add lanolin to the standard wool wash recipe? (4 cups soap flakes, 1 cup of methylated spirits, 4 cups boiling water, 1 tbsp of essential oil for fragrance)?

Hi all!