Which EO can be taken internally?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fox

Reaction score
I was just wondering how many of you take EO internally. I've heard of peppermint being safe to add to water for upset stomach but which others are safe for internal use, and what are the benefits?

I have also read about taking lemon and lavender, but I'm not a professional, this is just what I read in a book. I'm too scared to try it anyway.

I put lemon EO in my water to help with excess stomach acid. It works great and makes the water taste better. If you do try the peppermint be prepared for the extreme cooling sensation :shock: It works for a sore throat as well because of the cool soothing sensation. Make sure your EOs are from a good source, IMO they are not all created equally.

It really isn't recommended to take any EO internally because of their strength. If you are wanting to make something to ease stomach ailments etc you are far better off making a tea with the herbs, or even your own tincture using the herbs.

Try this experiment. Take a styrofoam plate, or whatever and put 1 drop of Spearmint Essential Oil on it. Watch what happens. Within seconds the styrofoam is melting. Do you really want to take that internally? That's why it is sooooo important that EO's not be applied neat but rather diluted into a carrier oil.

Lemon juice is easily accessed and far less expensive. For lavender, buy lavender and make a tea, same with the mints. You'll be far happier and safer with the results.

Just saying....

Lindy, remember the book you quoted when I was talking about my ear infection? I have another book by the same lady and she suggests taking some EOs. That is where I read it. (can't remember her name off the top of my head)