What kind of vinegar do you use for clean up?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kuurt

Reaction score
I heard that you have to neutralize the lye left on your utensils after you're done pouring your soap into molds. The lye is apparently still caustic so you either have to wait 24 hours before cleaning the utensils that you used or neutralize the lye with vinegar before washing.

And if you get lye on your skin or counter top you're suppose to neutralize it with vinegar. So I guess it's a good idea to have some vinegar around, but does it matter what kind? I imagine they're probably talking about white vinegar, but I already have apple cider vinegar so I was wondering if that will work the same.

No vinegar. Have never used it. Doesn't mean you shouldn't. NOTE: I am not a professional! :D
I clean all of mine immediately with hot water in the soap pot and Dawn. Of course you are still wearing gloves.
Dawn in the pot.
Fill halfway with hot water.
Stickblend.

That pretty much takes care of the stickblender and the pot. I go over it with a scrubbie, dry and put away. Refill the pot and wash the utensils. Quick and easy.
After I pour the NAOH into the water I put the container in the other sink under running water for a few minutes. Same with the lye container after pouring into the batter. Dry and put away.

By the way, in an emergency, any soda (preferably diet, it's not sticky) will neutralize caustic. The phosphoric acid in the soda does the trick.

Is this even true? Many people say its just an old soapers tale and nothing neutralizes lye. I keep a spray bottle of vinegar on my counter and spray everything that comes in contact with lye before I wash. I've done this from the beginning of my soaping life. I'm wondering if its all for naught. I've never actually had to put it to the test so I don't know for sure. :? What do you guys think?