Conditioner Bars with ACV or Citric Acid?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Summermoonsoapery

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I’ve been doing some research trying to figure out how to make a natural hair conditioner bar. Currently I am making my shampoo bars using cold process soap and so I want to figure out how to make a conditioner bar that is more acidic. Essentially, I want the conditioner bar to be like a solid form of the apple cider vinegar rinse you are to do after using soap on your hair has anyone tried this before? I’m wondering if you can add citric acid powder to the mixture before hardening, or adding apple cider vinegar in a bar emulsion (is that a thing? Haha)… I’m pretty new to this, so any direction would be much appreciated. Thank you.

You cannot reduce the pH of soap in any meaningful amount, for two reasons:

1. The acid in both vinegar and citric acid with react with NaOH, and thus be neutralized.

2. If you were able to reduce the pH of soap, it would cease to be soap, and would break into free fatty acids.

Bottom line, you are better off either making an acidic rinse solution with ACV or citric acid, OR making a conditioner bar with ingredients that actually condition hair - or both.

Hi thank
You cannot reduce the pH of soap in any meaningful amount, for two reasons:

1. The acid in both vinegar and citric acid with react with NaOH, and thus be neutralized.

2. If you were able to reduce the pH of soap, it would cease to be soap, and would break into free fatty acids.

Bottom line, you are better off either making an acidic rinse solution with ACV or citric acid, OR making a conditioner bar with ingredients that actually condition hair - or both.