Hot Process-When is it Cooked/Finished?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thank you so much! So you reserve the water from what would be combined with your sodium hydroxide? Nothing that is actually extra? I really like that in the pot swirl, really pretty monochromatic colors. Gonna have to try that. I use a chopstick to get "chunkier swirls," I think it works pretty well.
Correct, it's just water that would have been added with the lye.
I do a lot of in the pot swirls ... quick and easy and no extra dishes. :)

Hi, I’ve been making HP (and CP) soap for just over 15 years. I started with HP, went to CP and nowadays I go back and forth depending. I use less water these days to cook, but add in a little reserved liquid (not water) after the cook. Often you don’t see stages, the soap just seems to do its thing. But the shiny appearance is Vaseline stage, the end. Then I take the crockpot off heat. First I add in (room temperature) yogurt. Stir really well, and let it sit for 3-4 minutes. Then I add in Coconut milk, apple cider vinegar, orange juice and sodium lactate. And my post cook super fat. All these ingredients are hot 🔥. I keep them in a Bain-Marie on top of the stove. Some people keep their post-cook ingredients in crocks in a warm oven. Important to not add anything cool, this immediately seizes the batter. By this time, the batter has cooled off enough to add fragrance, but is still relatively warm. Then I split my batter and add color. I add boiling hot water to my micas and that helps with fluidity also. It’s quite possible to swirl HP.

Attachments

• IMG_3283_Original.jpeg
    IMG_3283_Original.jpeg
    430.5 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3138_Original.jpeg
    IMG_3138_Original.jpeg
    598 KB · Views: 0
Tara, no matter what I say, someone will contradict me, so I would just as soon keep my knowledge to myself. I am TRULY Sorry!