Very new soap maker wannabee

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SmellyKat

Reaction score
Haven't made any soap yet because I am still learning and researching.
I read on this Forum a gentlemen using the oils you can get from a grocery store. (Olive Oil, Coconut Oil, etc.) I am assuming we can use those oils in the store???
I plan on buying a 3 lb or 4 lb wooden loaf box for the mold. Then I look at recipes and have no idea how much soap they actually make! Not enough for the mold? Too much for the mold??
I will using the CP method. And definitely EO's.
See, I have the verbage down and feel better already!! haha

Kathie

Welcome! I believe what you are looking for is Paul's Wal-Mart Soap Recipe:

soapmakerman said:
30% Coconut Oil
25% Crisco
23% Olive Oil (lightest they have)
10% Canola Oil
7% Safflower Oil
5% Castor Oil

Give it a good cure time to harden up well. You can take a modest water discount. I'd soap it at a 33% lye solution. You can also use Wal-Mart's brand Pre-Creamed animal fats shortening also. The above recipe is all veggie, but I like using the Pre-Creamed shortening. Use 25% of this instead of the Crisco. It will be a firmer bar, too.

Run through a online soap calculator like this one;

http://www.soapcalc.com/calc/soapcalcWP.asp

Paul.....

My veeeerry basic but pretty darn decent recipe is also made of things you can get entirely at Walmart:

50% Lard
30% Coconut
15% Olive
5% Castor*

5% superfat/lye disco

When a recipe says it makes "2 pounds" or "4 pounds" or whatevs, they are almost always referring to the amount of oils in the recipe. A "2 pound" recipe will be 32 oz of oil, plus the appropriate amount of water and lye and additives. Check out this cool sticky - it will help you figure out of if a mold is big enough** for your recipe:

How to figure how much oil for mold