Tallow Bad for Skin?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ganiggle

Reaction score
So I got this book called The Soapmakers Companion. I was reading up on tallow, and the author talks about how it may be bad for your skin by clogging pores and causing acne and stuff.

Before I decide to use it to make soap, I wanted to know what your experiences have been with tallow, and if you have found them to be bad for the skin. What percentages of it do you use? Also, what oils do you like to mix with it?

I appreciate the help!

Being a nearly newbie myself I have only made eight or so batches of soap, and the one I made with all tallow is a lovely hard soap but personally I think it is more drying for my skin than ones that are a mixture of animal fats and vegetable oils or all vegetable oil.

The one that is a blend of tallow, coconut oil and sunflower oil is lovely, but I can't say as yet whether it blocks the pores or not.

My favourite one so far is a blend of vegetable oil, coconut and olive oil, nice and gentle.

However, some people think that tallow and lard are great, and nothing I have learnt would disagree with them, so I think the answer to your question may be, although it may not be all that helpful, is that you have to try different sorts of soap to see which one is personally best for your skin. Good luck, let us know how you get on and what you think.

the first ingredient in a bar of Johnson's & Johnson's baby soap is tallow. it can't be horrible if it is the main ingredient in baby soap. *i think*