Soap molds

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Candle Guy

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner at soap making and I want to purchase a soap mold. I was looking into a 42 inch loaf or log mold. My question is can you make less soap than the 42 inches. There is a recipe that I would like to try out but it will not fill the mold completely. Will this affect how the soap turns out?

Thank you for the quick response. I am looking to buy a mold right now. I just ordered all of the supplies minus the mold. Any suggestions for CP soap?

The soap calculator is confusing me lol. That is how much of a soap rookie that I am.

Ok. My favorite small mold only holds about 16 oz. There's one at Bramble Berry and another at Nurture. I would use that or one for 32 oz.

If you have an existing soap recipe from a book or website, the first step I would take is to convert the amounts to percentages. In the calculator, you input the amount of oils (16 oz or 450 g).

Adjust the superfat.

Then, you select each of the oils and put in the percentage for each oil. The calculator will give you your new recipe with measurements for oils, water, and NaOH.

I highly recommend a smaller mold. I make and seek and don’t use a mold that big. Plus if you make that much soap as a beginner you may not even like the recipe or something goes wrong thats a lot of wasted money. I wouldn’t make more than a pound or two at a time tops.

I highly recommend a smaller mold. I make and seek and don’t use a mold that big. Plus if you make that much soap as a beginner you may not even like the recipe or something goes wrong thats a lot of wasted money. I wouldn’t make more than a pound or two at a time tops.