Soap fails with pictures

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

happymom

Reaction score
Hi all -

I am a beginner - made two batches this weekend - batch #7 and #8 for me.

Fail #1 - I wanted to try Lard soap. I decided to make a 1 lb batch, test a fragrance oil, and learn how to use the lye calculator. I found a recipe for an all lard soap, so I knew it could be done, but read somewhere that it should be tempered with a little castor oil. So using the calculator (soapcalc) I came up with a simple recipe for 95% lard, 5% castor, 5% superfat, and I used a fragrance called Blue Spruce from [email protected].

My understanding is that you can't mess up to lye calculator - if something isn't right percentage wise you will get an error message - hopefully that is the case.

I know I measured right - but 24 hours later DOS appeared. I have read through the different reasons for DOS but I can't figure this one out. The oils were purchased during the previous week. Also I thought DOS tended to come on a few weeks later?

IMG_0347.jpg

Soap fail #2

I used this recipe...

www.soapqueen.com/bath-and-body-tutorials/cold-process-soap/pumpkin-puree-cold-process-soap-2/

The directions don't say anything about dissolving the titanium dioxide in a little bit of oil before adding to the rest of the batch so I didn't do that - I was afraid to throw in extra oil anyway. But I crushed up the lumps, stirred and stirred, and I could see there were still tiny pieces that didn't incorporate. So when I sliced it here is what it looked like.... (pic 1). It has white "meteors" all through it.