Recommend a good colour laser printer?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AshleyR

Reaction score
I'm about to purchase a new printer that I can use to print my own brochures, business cards, flyers, etc.

Just wondering if anyone has any recommendations?

Thanks!

I have a canon pixma mp530 . I haven't done much with it but I have printed photos on photo paper and they come out NICE!

I have a Samsung 315. Handles color nice and basic text. If I do any labels with a fancy font for text it comes out a little blurry.

Bruce

By trade I am a computer tech, having spent most of my career working in offices. Needless to say, I've spent a lot of time with printers....

When I started making soap I wanted a printer for the same uses and I ended up with a HP Officejet K5400. Unlike a laserjet you don't have to wait for it to warm up, the print quality is great and the ink isn't terribly expensive. Plus the printer is dirt cheap (compared to a laser) and very reliable.

I've also supported older and newer versions and all have been great.

I've also spent many years in IT support and related fields.

First of all you asked about a color laser printer. In my experience you really don't need to go to that expense (and it is expensive) unless you are in publishing, printing, advertising, or some other high profile industry that demands the absolute best quality.

You can get good print quality from almost any inkjet brand but most manufacturers really soak you on the consumables. That is why you can get a new printer for $99 or sometimes even for free when you buy some other gadget. They know you will make it up to them shortly when you have to buy ink. Personally I avoid brands like HP and Brother for this reason. I also have experienced compatibility issues with Epson but to be fair that was quite a few years ago.