Plastic egg containers - safe to use as a mold?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kniquy

Reaction score
I am new to soaping but it is always on my mind what I can try next. As I was throwing out a large plastic egg container (the ones that hold 30 eggs) I was wondering if it would be ok to use as a mold. It seems pretty sturdy but not sure if it would handle the heat of the soap curing. It did have a number 1 in the recycle triangle.

I probably answered my own question. After a quick google search for what the #1 refers to it noted that the

Polyethylene terephthalates may leach carcinogens. Probably not a good match for making soap - who knows what would leach into the soap.

Any other household items you may have just tossed but worked for at least a one time use mold?

Do not ever use PET plastics for containing soap batter or lye. PET becomes very brittle very quickly when exposed to alkalis -- it disintegrates in a very short time.

There's a thread somewhere entitled "milk cartons" that should be an interesting read for you :)

It's not old too so you can also still comment there if you want.

I used (and still do) a lot of household stuff before my sister bought me molds. Ice trays big n small, Pringles cans (a crowd favorite), milk cartons, margarine tubs, yogurt cups... Plastic food containers we don't wanna put food in anymore. Someone had successfully used a pizza box as a slab mold. You'll find that thread of you search too.

Just make sure to check if it's safe to use, and won't melt.

I am new to soaping but it is always on my mind what I can try next. As I was throwing out a large plastic egg container (the ones that hold 30 eggs) I was wondering if it would be ok to use as a mold. It seems pretty sturdy but not sure if it would handle the heat of the soap curing. It did have a number 1 in the recycle triangle.