Patchouli E.O.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

craftykelly

Reaction score
Does it discolour in CP? I am thinking about making a Patchouli and Lavender log with cubed chunks of patchouli in the lavender base iykwim. Also what other scents go nice with patchouli as I have never used it before. TIA

I've used Patchouli EO lots in my soaps. Unfortunately, I can't answer your question on whether it discolors or not, because I always colored my patchouli soaps a rich brown. Patchouli has always struck me as a very brown scent. So I use ground cinnamon and cloves and nutmeg to color the bars, and call it "Patchouli Spice". The spice scent doesn't really come through, though. But I bet a spicy scent would go well with Patchouli. And Amber! I never tried it in soapmaking, but I have mixed amber oil and patchouli oil together for a perfume, and it was Ummmmmmm..... heavenly! Just some thoughts, don't know if they are useful or not. Good luck, Blue

patchouli goes with alot of things, it just depends how strong you mix it. The spice mix is very good with clove and cinnamon oils. It can go lightly with Ylang Ylang and with orange or grapefruit.

mine is always light earthy tan but then i do use patchouli infused olive oil in my soap. my patch is really dark and i think it would do this even without the added infused oil.

I used patchouli lightly (i.e. much less than the usually recommended 0.5 oz per pound of oils it was about 3 mL per lb) in a black and white soap, and the white is reasonably white. The oils are Crisco, Olive Pomace, Cocoa Butter, and Castor.

This is it:

zedsoap6.jpg

Surf girl, that soap is GORGEOUS!!! Holy cow! Those swirls are perfect.