True confessions and help needed… Patchouli

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
True confessions -
1. I don’t really like patchouli 😳
2. A few family members LOVE patchouli (like gaga for it, in fact)
3. I made a soap that was scented with only patchouli. It was just too much for me by itself and although they really liked it, I want to make soap that I enjoy making and sniffing
4. I have zero point zero experience or skills in blending FO/EO, or figuring out fragrance notes
5. I don’t know where to learn about blending, and am not confident at all that even if I did, I doubt if I could really do it well

So, if you have some advice on using patchouli, what to blend it with, ratios for blends - yadda yadda, I would really appreciate your advice. ☺️

@Zing, I seem to recall you do some fancy-schamchy ?patch-orange? that @KiwiMoose said was delicious?

Help, soapy pals, if you are so inclined? 🌸

I love patchouli. It blends perfectly with orange (if you use EO, use a folded one) - I like 3:1 orange:patch.

To test a blend, dip a q-tip in the EO/FO, or put drops on a cotton ball, and seal in a jar or plastic bag. Leave it for a few hours to a few days and see if you like it. I think just about any citrus fragrance would work. Lemongrass or lavender EO is nice. A jasmine or orange blossom FO would probably be another possibility if you want something more floral.

Patchouli and Lavender 50/50. I'm not a lavender fan but will tolerate it with the patchouli. Patchouli and orange 50/50. @Zing 's one is anise and patchouli, with orange and lavender I think - and it's divine, but very strong on the anise, which takes over ( the reason I like it) and your patch fans may be disappointed in that - if they don't get enough patchouli whiff. Patchouli and orange blossom FO or neroli is very nice, and a bit more floral.