Olive oil

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been a hobbyist and have just used the same evoo as i cook with...that's becoming cost prohibitive now that word got out about my soap and i am selling it to more people.

Can anyone help me find a more cost effective supplier? I am currently paying 51 cents per fluid oz/54 cents per weight in oz. I am a prime member so no shipping costs.

Ditto for CO 76, i am paying 31 cents for fl oz.

Last edited:
Soaper's Choice has 7 lbs of olvie oil for $39.41 The shipping may be prohibitive, though. Rice bran oil is a good substitute for olive oil in soap.

Last edited:
If there's a Big Lots near you, I'd check out their oil prices. I saw on a soap Facebook page that someone found coconut oil for a ridiculously good price there. I checked the one near me and while they didn't have Coconut Oil, they did have EV Olive Oil and I was delighted to find it for 19¢/oz. Normally I buy through Walmart at the 20¢/oz price, so not a huge difference, but it's fun to find good deals :)

If there's a Big Lots near you, I'd check out their oil prices. I saw on a soap Facebook page that someone found coconut oil for a ridiculously good price there. I checked the one near me and while they didn't have Coconut Oil, they did have EV Olive Oil and I was delighted to find it for 19¢/oz. Normally I buy through Walmart at the 20¢/oz price, so not a huge difference, but it's fun to find good deals :)
Thanks! Here i was thinking that all the soapers were buying from soap supply stores and that I was missing something. I followed the tip above and just ordered up coconut oil from bargain outlet.

I went searching last night and while I was finding better prices, I about fainted at shipping costs and times.

Thanks everyone!