Fl. Oz. vs Oz.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapbe99

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the soap making world! I am trying to calculate COGs, and all things cost in Excel to make sure I'm efficient and making a profit.
I currently purchase all oils by weight. (7-8 lbs.) I'm trying to comprehend the difference in net weight and volume...or lbs. vs fl. oz.
I've calculated cost per fl. oz. for each type of oil however I'm stumped when it comes to figuring out how to calculate my cost of each amount of oil per recipe.
Prior, when making my soap, I have always measured by ounces...however I've calculated my cost based on fl. oz.
How would I calculate cost of each oil by specified amount in fluid ounces for each recipe?
Sorry if this is confusing and hopefully I'm not overthinking it!

Thx! :)

Welcome to the forum! It's a great and supportive community.
I'm not exactly sure what you are asking but you should skip all fluid ounces and volumes completely. When I make soap, I use only weights of each ingredient. Even if the bottle/brand uses fluid ounces, you should figure out weight instead.
I personally use metric now because grams are more concise and accurate than ounces -- just my personal OCD preference. :)
Good for you doing this. I've been soaping a few years now and keep wanting to create a spreadsheet but never get around to it.

I wonder about that too. If you buy a bottle it has fl Oz. So does that mean you have to convert every bottle into reg oz before you enter it into your spreadsheet? The accuracy is all wonky for me. I was taught grams for powder and oz for liquids. But the thing is, when I use my scale and switch units back and forth. The values change. Idk, I think it's just above my pay grade.