Newbie soap maker query: Melt and pour vs lye based

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JazzKitten

Reaction score
Hi everyone
I'm fairly new here, after posting in the massage bars section of this forum I've decided to make some soap.
I'm completely new to making soap but I must admit the idea of adding caustic soda to oils, well just the actual existence of caustic soda in my home, seems a bit scary.
I realise that melt and pour is much easier as well as safer than using caustic soda, but are there other reasons I would want to use MAP? It's probably a lot more expensive due to the convenience of it already having been mixed too, and I wondered if anyone could give me a rough estimate on how much more expensive each soap bar would be if i used MAP rather than doing a lye solution.
Thanks everyone, in advance, for any and all advice and help you can give.
Wendy

This will sound very weird but if you can work with using bleach and ammonia from time to time, you can work with either caustic soda or potash. They key to working either lye is to respect it as you would the former two chemicals in terms of family safety and care. However, as far as being able to tell you the cost differences between the two, that's a little out of my league as it can be very variable. Generally, CP or HP soap making is more cost-efficient that using MP.

Melt and pour can be more expensive but it largely depends on where you live, where you buy it, and the quantity you buy. For me, M&P was a good first step into the soaping world. it was a way to get used to weighing things, learning about acceptable usage amounts for fragrance, and practicing designs.