My Big Project...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donniej

Reaction score
I openly admit that I'm extremely jealous of the work that many of you post here. The talent in this forum absolutely amazes me. But what I might lack in artistic ablities, I hope I make up for with knowledge of metal fabrication and industrial machinery.

You might have guessed, these pics are of a soap production plant that I'm working on. I hope that it will be complete in 1 or 2 months, I already have 4 months invested. My goal is to make a very inexpensive, all natural soap, both liquid and bar. I have access to a steady supply of both used cooking oil and raw glycerin from local BioDiesel makers. These will be my main ingredients. I have 5 years experience with working with used cooking oil and processing BioDiesel. I have about 2 years experience making soap from both raw glycerin whole oil.

This is for purifying used cooking oil. It can process 500 gallons per day and can hold 1,500 gallons.

IMG_3384.JPG

The oil can be pumped from the 3 vertical tanks to the mixing tanks. The tank on the right is for liquid soap. This is a serious mixing tank that I still can't believe I have. It was last used for making leather dyes and is food or pharmacuetical grade. The one on the left is for bar soap. It has an open top (for scooping out) and big 2" pipes on the bottom, which should be great for pouring the soap into molds. Both are stainless steel and will hold ~120 gallons each.

IMG_3385.JPG

Right now I only have one small mold that I made for samples to give away. It makes two 4 foot loaves, totaling 90 bars.

IMG_3389.JPG

Here's some bars drying...

IMG_3388.JPG

This is the inside of the bar mix tank. The propellor is driven by a 1700rpm, 3/4hp motor. The shaft and propellor are stainless steel.

IMG_3391.JPG

IMG_3390.JPG