miscalculating volume

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JenBen

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to soap making and tried to test out a new set of molds. They're silicone, so I filled them with water and emptied the water into a measuring cup. I came up with roughly 1 cup or 8 ounces for all 6 cavities per mold. I like them a bit full so I entered 16.50 ounces into soap calc. I used a recipe that recommends 20% superfat and a 2:1 ratio of water to lye for a 100% coconut oil soap. I came up with and measured out 4.84 ounces of water and 2.42 ounces of lye. I threw in a couple of dashes of cinnamon, just for fun. When I poured the soap it only filled 8 of the 12 cavities. What did I do wrong?

Jenifer

Hi!

There is a great and pretty much sure fire formula for working out the capacity of a container when it comes to soaping. Of course, there is a wee bit of a margin of error, but not much. Trouble is, I can't remember it! Will search and update......

Ah, it's stickied right at the top of this section! Or here as a link

https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/how-to-figure-how-much-oil-for-mold.2909/
Basically width X length X height of your mold (the inner part) X 0.4 if you're working in inches or 0.72 if using cm. That gives you your oil weight. Not including water and lye, just oil weight.

That's the margin of error - if I use a 40% solution and you use a 30% solution, there will be a difference in the amount of water we would use for the same recipe, so a difference in total volume. But it's not a huge amount, all told.