Lingonberry conundrum

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

camproses

Reaction score
I have been making soap for about 4 years and this year started selling it locally at farmer's markets and to friends and family. We have a local store that specializes in Swedish goods and I came up with an idea to make a lingonberry soap for the store to sell. I approached the owner, who loved the idea, so I purchased dried lingonberry powder. She wants the soap to be all natural, but she already sells all natural soap from another artisan and I am thinking I should go more decorative in order to supply her with something that will stand out more and not directly compete with her current natural line. My idea was to create a shiny red "lingonberry" glaze with clear melt n pour that would sit on top of cold process "cheesecake cupcakes" (I make alot of cupcake soap already). I was thinking maybe using Bergamot EO if I go the natural route but I would prefer it actually smell like the berries. The new lingonberry FO from Brambleberry was my original plan, but when I read the description it became obvious it would not work as a dessert soap. Then I looked for cranberry FOs as a substitute but I am unsure which one would resemble a natural Lingonberry syrup scent the most and which company would be best to order from. I am working with a limited budget at the moment, but I do want this to turn out as well as possible since I want to sell them. I would appreciate some direction from anyone who may have tried this or something similar or recently ordered either the lingonberry from BB or a cranberry from somewhere else. Thank you!

"....She wants the soap to be all natural..."