KOH accuracy in liquid bases with multiple fats

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frank Deane

Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first post to the forum and I'm very happy to share company with many veteran soap makers. I am a complete novice (I've made four batches of mild liquid soap in the last two months) and new to this space, so PLEASE forgive my ignorance as I build a working knowledge of the craft. I am presently fine-tuning a recipe for a wonderful mild liquid soap based on an old recipe for castile that I found on the internet. I like many of its properties, but want to experiment with a different blend of base oils: EVO (60%); Castor (10%); and Coconut (30%). I am using a specific brand of coconut oil and recently contacted the company to ask for the exact saponification value for the oil. They replied with the following message:

Please see the response from the lab: Unsaponifiable matter value of our unrefined coconut oil is tested to be between 0.1 to 0.2 percent by mass.