Just placed my first FO order

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Well, it took me a year since I started making our own soap to buy scent but I finally did 2 days ago. I bought from Southern Soapers since I have been on their group from the start and they are next state over for me here in TN. It was interesting to choose the scents and to learn what I liked and would go over with hubby too. We have alot of the same smell preferances. Being woodsy and not sickly sweet.

First off I was after a good mint so I odered Mint & herbs. I am an student herbalist but my cats and chickens ate all my mint. So that was a must have right now. Another must have was the Red Egyptian Musk. I got a thing for old egypt and it sounded wonderful. Along with that idea I also got the Sangre De Drago. I figured hubby would like both of these. Another for me was Freesia Rose and also Hyacinth Gardenia. Too flowery for him but I love those scents for certain mood. Since I grew up on a island Sea Air Sandlewood seem like a nice combo. Last but not least was Bonsai.

One thing I could not buy is any food type scents. Key Lime Pie was temptating but I am afraid I would eat the soap. LOL I wanted a coconut scent and the lime coconut look good but I had a limit and from reading most coconut scents just do not make it.

All in all I am very happy with the cost. I know many say SS are up there in price but for me it is reasonable. I spent $40.00 at the local Health Barn buying sweet almond oil and tea tree. I spent the same at SS and got alot more. All were 1oz so I will have enough for many batches.