HP Soap Not Setting - Help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J.A

Reaction score
Hi guys!
Im new to soap making. I did a lot of reading, watched a lot of video tutorial but MY SOAP IS NOT SETTING. :(

Im doing crock pot hp method.

Recipe as follows:
425 ml VCO
75 ml VCO (superfat 15%)
78 g caustic soda flakes
190 ml water

I add the superfat when the batter is light & fluffy with 7-9ph on thr strip.

It's been 24hrs in the mold but i dont see any changes on the consistency-- still paste-like or petroleum jelly-like.

I tried scooping a bit to try and use, it worked already as soap. BUT WHY IS IT NOT SETTING?

Heeeeelp. :(

Does your caustic soda have a ingredient list. Almost sounds like it could be potassium hydroxide which is used to make soft/liquid soap.

Welcome to the forum! I agree with Obsidian - does the bottle say Potassium hydroxide (used for making liquid soap) or sodium hydroxide (bar soap).

I have never soaped with VCO - I assume virgin coconut oil? I use refined coconut oil. I wouldn't THINK it would cause this kind of problem, but perhaps there is a bit of water in it? 190 is on the higher end of water, and if there was some in the VCO, that could be too much?

"...does the bottle say Potassium hydroxide..."

Or caustic potash. That is another common name for potassium hydroxide (KOH).

"...190 is on the higher end of water..."

For cold process soap, I agree. But not so much for hot process, which is what the OP is doing. I might use as much as 235 grams of water with 78 g of NaOH for typical HP.

He says it was "caustic soda flakes"; that would be Sodium Hydroxide, Potassium Hydroxide (potash) is never called "caustic soda".

Sometimes we grab the wrong bottle, without realizing it. On occasion, soapers have accidentally bought the wrong lye/caustic without realizing and had this happen.

Another couple of possibilities: