Need help with HP soap.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shopkins1994

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am brand new to soap making and I need some major help. I’m not sure what I am doing wrong. I thought I’d post here to see if anyone can help me. I have looked at some HP soap turtorials and I am trying to replicate what I see.

I am trying to make hot pressed soap in a crock pot. I have tried two different recipes and both have had the same results.

The first recipe is 25% shea butter, 25% 92 degrees coconut oil, 25% avocado butter, 25% mango butter. Total was 16 ounces of oil and I superfatted at 5%.

The second is 10% avocado butter, 15% castor oil, 30% coconut oil, 20% olive oil, 2% macadamia nut oil, 13% mango seed butter, 10% shea butter. Total was 16 ounces of oil and I superfatted at 5%.

I add all oils/fat to my crock pot and melt them. I then add my lye to my water and then pour my lye/water mixture into the crock pot. I then blend with my stick blender. I have read conflicting reports on what a trace is. Some people say a VERY thick custard, others say it doesn’t even need to be thick. For the first recipe I blended for about 10 minutes to a THICK custard. For the second recipe I blended for 2 minutes, and a drop would stay on top. Can someone describe the look of trace. Is a thicker trace better than a thinner trace?

I put the top on the crock pot and cooked 15 minutes and then stirred, and repeated this at 15 minute intervals 3 times (so an hour).