Help with recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lizzysoap

Reaction score
So I made a batch of a recipe I have used before with success, with 3 changes. The recipe is in the photo below with the addition of BB sensuous sandalwood fragrance oil at 7g, and vitamin E oil at 11g and Mica mixed with some of the soap oils. The problem I am having is that the soap will not de-mold, it has been 4 days and is still super sticky on the bottom. I think I should also mention it has rained almost non stop sence I made the soap. I am not sure if it just to humid, or a problem with the recipe. I am new to adding fragrance and colors to soap, and I read that adding vitamin E oil would help prevent the DOS that I got on a batch of soap, (the soap was 2.5 years old before the DOS showed up, but still not fun.) Also I did not add extra oil for the superfat.

Screenshot_20180220-222242.png

You've used 5% SF and 26% Lye Concentration. That is full water and may take a while to set. Leave it for another day and see what happens.

Next time try 30-32% lye concentration. That will speed things up a little.

The soap calculator you have used puts the superfat up the top but it is automatically included in the recipe. You don't add it as extra oil. So you did the right thing.

I agree with Penelope and Shari- that's a whole lot of water. It might possibly even take up to a week to be able to unmold gracefully. I once made a 100% extra-virgin olive oil soap with a full water amount and it took a little over a week before it finally felt somewhat sturdy enough to be able to unmold, just as long as I handled it very gently. Once unmolded, it took a few extra days beyond that before it could stand up to being cut half way decently. It eventually turned into a very nice batch of rock-hard soap in the end, after a good long cure of several months, that is.

IrishLass :)