What am I doing wrong

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cece4ya71

Reaction score
Happy Holidays everyone. I'm new to homemade cp soaps. I really enjoy making it and I see improvement in our skin. I've made a few batches that were acceptable and some that weren't, ending in rebatching or tossing. I am using the soap calculator on each batch but I'm obviously missing something.

Three weeks ago I bad a batch and to me it doesn't lather like the other has. Below is my recipe. Please help. Thanks

1 pound
Lye 28%
Sweet Almond oil 1.6 oz
Castor oil 4.8 oz
Coconut oil 3.52oz
Shea butter 1.60 oz
Olive oil 2.72 oz
Coco butter 1.76oz
Fragrance . 50 oz

I'm no expert formulator but I can tell you right off the bat that that is a LOT of Castor Oil (30%!). While high Castor Oil shows high bubbly numbers in SoapCalc, the truth is that Castor Oil is more like a supporting character than the star of the show. It boosts lather, more than making the lather on its own. Most people recommend a maximum of 5-10% of Castor Oil in their formulations. Any more and soap tends to get sticky/slimy.

30% castor oil is a lot. I use 5-15% and have wonderful results, but I can’t imagine going over 15%. I do find it takes longer to cure with 15% castor oil. I’m just posting your recipe for others to help. Idk what your super fat is so I just used 5%.

I would reduce the castor oil to 5-10% and split the rest between either shea, olive or almond oil.

Attachments

• IMG_2659.png
    IMG_2659.png
    299.6 KB · Views: 0
Last edited: