Help troubleshooting- bubbles in finished soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Teresa408

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I’m brand new to soaping and I’m so grateful for all the help I’ve gotten here already. Thank you all for being so generous with your experience and expertise. I made some melt and pour a few weeks ago, got hooked, and I’m now trying to figure out all things soapy.

Yesterday, I made a small batch 50/50 coconut olive oil soap with 13% SF. I used soapcalc to get exact weights for all ingredients. My oil was at 120 and my lye milk was maybe 110 when mixed. I used P&J brand coconut and mango FO layers, colored with a little mica mixed in OO, and used canned coconut milk (frozen) in place of the water. I poured them in small silicone molds and cooked at 170f for two hours, shut off the oven and left it till this morning. They are oily to the touch and are visibly full of bubbles! They look like little flower shaped sponges. The batter looked nice and creamy and behaved like pudding when I poured it. Did I beat it too much with the stick blender? Will my soap be okay to use or should I melt it down and try to get the bubbles out?

Thanks in advance for any help, I would love to know what I did wrong and what I can do differently in the future.

43D2F2FC-A755-47D6-A03D-86C5F9D457EA.jpeg
ABDA3BFA-0FD1-42E9-98E0-F10F310243E3.jpeg
0B51F3A4-70F4-4C6C-9C38-8A00E04D8090.jpeg

They aren’t zapping me. Does that mean all the lye has reacted already, meaning I cooked them too long?

This is funny because I put this batch in the oven only because my first batch wouldn’t cure at all. I’m 0 for 2 here, folks.

I did make some lovely lotion bars, though.