GM lotion Q..

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SimplyE

Reaction score
I tried my first lotion...yeah!!! I made it with GM. It feels nice going on, but then after rubbing it in, it tends to ball up on my skin...almost like dead skin sloughing off. I did exfoliate after this and still had that effect. It does the same thing on my mom's skin. The lotion is rather thick, actually a cream and is nice, except that lovely side effect comes after, which is not so nice.

As soon as I find the recipe :oops: I will post it. I used, ewax, stearic, Germall Plus, and oils and GM from a can. Wondering if it is the GM?

Thanks!

Thanks! After looking at my recipe, I actually used ewax, no stearic. What should I do differently? I used a recipe that I read about, subbing some oils that I did not have on hand. I LOVE the way it feels...until then.

I have zero experience with ewax or lotions :shock:

sorry, when it comes to lotions I only know how to MAKE mistakes, not fix them. but I'm sure someone else will have ideas.

I am all about mistakes! :lol:

If E-wax and stearic do this, why are they used. It seems like stearic and E-wax are both used in lotions. There must be a trick...anyone???

maybe you have too much in there, or maybe you need a better balanced recipe. like I said, I don't do well at this stuff

I also make GM lotion. But I do use fresh milk. I have my own goats.
There was a lotion tutorial on here some place. If you can’t find or I can’t, I have it copied and saved at home. I will get it and post it again. It is really helpful. It gives you the percentages for your oils and such. I use both e-wax and stearic acid in mine. I use aloe juice (from WalMart) and it doesn't get quite think enough without the stearic acid. So I don't think it is either of those.