Getting ready to make my first liquid soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DawninWA

Reaction score
I've been making soap for 4 years, and I want to venture into liquid soap. I have 2 lbs of KOH coming on Friday.

I want to use Palm Kernel Oil flakes, HO Safflower oil, and shea butter. I also have olive oil, coconut oil, Great Value shortening, cocoa butter, palm oil and lard, I'd rather not use lard.

Should I add other oils besides the first 3? And I don't know what percentages of the three I should do. I like high coconut in bars, we have hard water here. Should the PKO be pretty high? Can I go up to 40 or 50%?

Something like:
40% PKO
50% Safflower
10% Shea
3% superfat (2%? I don't know)
?

Any red flags with this recipe? Anything else I should be considering? I'm using PKO instead of Coconut because my skin can be sensitive to coconut, and I have a bunch (of PKO) I'd like to use up. I also don't care if it's cloudy or whatnot.

I'm planning to do cold process with water, it looks the easiest.

Thank you!
Dawn

I've only made a couple of batches of LS, but as I understand it you cannot superfat unless it is a water soluble oil such as red turkey. If you do superfat then once the LS sits for a bit the excess oil floats to the top. I guess that is OK as long as you or the final consumer remembers to shake the bottle each time you use it. As to the recipe itself I don't know enough to comment. Good luck.

That's my experience too -- superfatting at 3% or under is generally okay. If you superfat higher than that, it is likely to not work. If the superfat separates out, you may have to use polysorbate to emulsify/solubilize the fat or switch to a water-soluble fat (turkey red oil being an example.)

Are you using regular safflower or high oleic safflower?